Printer friendly

What does FHAG stand for?

FHAG stands for Fair Housing Accessibility Guidelines (US Department of Housing and Urban Development)

This definition appears somewhat frequently and is found in the following Acronym Finder categories:

  • Military and Government
  • Business, finance, etc.

See other definitions of FHAG

Samples in periodicals archive:

HUD has approved several "safe harbors" for compliance with the FHAA; "safe harbors" include, among others, The Fair Housing Accessibility Guidelines and the 1980, 1992 and 1998 editions of the ANSI A117.
Despite the fact that HUD itself has acknowledged that the guidance contained in its Fair Housing Accessibility Guidelines are non-mandatory and constitute but one way a builder/developer can comply with the federal accessibility requirements, experience indicates that HUD and its enforcement agents are requiring developers and architects to justify even small variances from the guidelines.
A multifamily property is covered under the Fair Housing Act's design and construction requirements and subject to the Fair Housing Accessibility Guidelines if it was built for first occupancy after March 13, 1991, and it contains four or more dwelling units.
RELATED ARTICLE: BUILDING CODE NOTES BUILDING CODE ORGANIZATIONS The National Apartment Association (NAA)/National Multi Housing Council (NMHC) Joint Legislative Program staff has been working with the International Conference of Building Officials (ICBO), Building Officials and Code Administrators International (BOCA), Southern Building Code Congress International (SBCCI), and the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) to change building codes and standards so they comply with the Americans with Disabilities Accessibility Act Guidelines (ADAAG) and the Fair Housing Accessibility Guidelines (FHAG).