Printer friendly

What does Cypr stand for?

Cypr stands for Cypriot (linguistics)

This definition appears very frequently and is found in the following Acronym Finder categories:

  • Science, medicine, engineering, etc.

Samples in periodicals archive:

Greek Cypriots control the only internationally recognized government; in November 1983 Turkish Cypriot "President" Rauf Denktash declared independence and the formation of a "Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus," which is recognized only by Turkey; both sides publicly support a settlement based on a federation (Greek Cypriot position) or confederation (Turkish Cypriot position) Head of State and Government: President Tassos Papadopoulos (since March 2003) President elected by popular vote for a five-year term Parliament: The single-chamber House of Representatives has 80 seats; 56 assigned to the Greek Cypriots, 24 to Turkish Cypriots.
The status quo that has existed since 1974 has been broken in part by the tactics of the Greek Cypriot side which has recently pursued what might be described as a policy of brinkmanship, although others might see it as a calculated policy of escalation in order to bring the international community into more active involvement.