Printer friendly

What does SWASM stand for?

SWASM stands for Southwest Asia Service Medal (US military)

This definition appears somewhat frequently and is found in the following Acronym Finder categories:

  • Military and Government

Samples in periodicals archive:

COL Lackey's awards and decorations include the Distinguished Service Medal; four awards of the Legion of Merit; two Bronze Star Medals; the Purple Heart; three awards of the Meritorious Service Medal; four Air Medals; five Army Commendation Medals; the Cross of Gallantry; the Combat Infantry Badge; the Master Parachutist Badge; the Vietnam Service Medal with nine stars, and the Southwest Asia Service Medal.
Herewith, a photo of the medals as requested, along with details on the revised Canadian medals, courtesy of the Department of National Defence: "DND announced changes to the Southwest Asia Service Medal (SWASM), the General Campaign Star (GCS) and the General Service Medal (GSM) following a major review of all recognition provided for overseas service in order to simplify and standardize overseas recognition for CF personnel.
Chief Dallas-Orr's personal decorations include the Joint Commendation Medal, Navy Commendation Medal (3 awards), Navy achievement Medal (2 awards), Good Conduct Medal (4 awards), Southwest Asia Service Medal, Kuwaiti Liberation Medal, Global War on Terrorism Expeditionary Medal, and National Defense Service Medal (2 awards).
Throughout his career, Drew has been awarded a number of special honors; Meritorious Service Medal with Oak Leaf Cluster; Air Medal; Aerial Achievement Medal with 5 Oak Leaf Clusters; Air Force Commendation Medal with 2 Oak Leaf Clusters; Air Force Achievement Medal; Air Force Outstanding Unit Medal with 3 Oak Leaf Clusters; Combat Readiness Medal with 5 Oak Leaf Clusters; National Defense Service Medal; Armed Forces Expeditionary Medal; Southwest Asia Service Medal with 3 Oak Leaf Clusters.