Printer friendly

What does MTP stand for?

MTP stands for Message Transfer Part

This definition appears very frequently and is found in the following Acronym Finder categories:

  • Information technology (IT) and computers

See other definitions of MTP

Other Resources:
We have 230 other meanings of MTP in our Acronym Attic

Samples in periodicals archive:

The SIGTRAN Test Suites, available for both the Message Transfer Part (MTP) Level 3 (M3UA) and ISDN User Adaptation (IUA) Layer protocols, allow equipment manufacturers and network operators to verify conformity and interoperability of their SIGTRAN implementations to industry standards, helping reduce the cost, risk and time associated with the development and deployment of converged networks.
TWO NETWORK CONFIGURATIONS In protocol interworking between message transfer part Layer 3 (MTP3) on the SS7 side and MTP3 user adaptation (M3UA) on the IP side, typical applications are data offload and long-distance bypass.
Integrated SS7 functionality includes Message Transfer Part (MTP) Level 1-3, Integrated Services Digital Network User Part (ISUP), Transaction Capabilities Application Part (TCAP), and Signaling Connection Control Point (SCCP) with Global Title Translation.
Trillium joined other industry leaders at the recently completed International Engineering Task Force's Message Transfer Part Level 3 User Adaptation Layer (M3UA) Bake Off, where the company successfully completed interoperability testing for its M3UA signaling software.
With the addition of SCTP (stream control transmission protocol), SUA (SS7 signaling connection control part user adaptation layer), M2UA (SS7 message transfer part (MTP) 2 user adaptation layer), and M3UA (MTP 3 user adaptation layer) protocols, Tekelec is the front-runner in convergence diagnostics," explains David Hammond, director of product marketing for the Tekelec Network Diagnostics Division.
Telenetworks SS7 solution includes all core elements of SS7, including the Message Transfer Part (MTP-2 and MTP-3), Signaling Connection Control Part (SCCP), ISDN User Part (ISUP) and Transaction Capabilities Application Part (TCAP).